Lichfield City Council

Minutes of the Annual Meeting of Lichfield City Council held in the Guildhall, Lichfield, on Monday 15 May 2024 at 6.30 pm

PRESENT: Councillors J Anketell, H Ashton, D Baker, C Ball, J Blackman, R Bragger, J Christie, K Farrelly, M Field, A Fox, C Greatorex, R Harvey-Coggins, S Hollingsworth, A Hughes, P Knight, A Lax, J Marshall, P McDermott, C Pinder-Smith, D Robertson, A Rushton, S Schafer, J Smith, E Strain, M Warfield, B Watkins and R Yardley.

APOLOGIES: Councillors J Eagland and P Ray

1 ELECTION OF MAYOR

It was proposed by Councillor E Strain seconded by Councillor D Robertson, and

RESOLVED: That Councillor Sam Schafer be elected Mayor of the City to hold office until the election of a successor at the Annual Meeting of Council in May 2025.

The Mayor was invested with the Mayoral Chain and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office. The Mayor then took the Oath of Allegiance and occupied the Chair.

2 COUNCIL MINUTES

RESOLVED: That the Minutes of the City Council Meeting held on 15 April 2024 (nos. 118 – 127) be confirmed and signed as a correct record.

3 APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY MAYOR

It was proposed by Councillor R Harvey-Coggins, seconded by Councillor P Knight, and

RESOLVED: That Councillor Claire Pinder-Smith be appointed Deputy Mayor to hold office until the election of Mayor at the Annual Meeting of Council in May 2025.

The Deputy Mayor was invested with the chain of office and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

4 ELECTION OF SHERIFF

It was proposed by Councillor P Knight, seconded by Councillor R Bragger, and

RESOLVED: That Cathy Wood be elected Sheriff of the City to hold office until the election of a successor at the Annual Meeting of Council in May 2025.

The Sheriff was invested with the Chain of Office and took the Oath of Fealty to the Crown.

5 EXPRESSION OF THANKS

The Mayor, Deputy Mayor and Sheriff each returned thanks for their election.

6 APPOINTMENT OF MAYOR'S CHAPLAIN

The Mayor announced that Reverend Ian Hayter would be Mayor's Chaplain.

7 APPOINTMENT OF MAYOR'S CADET

The Mayor announced that Army Cadet L/Cpl Molly Taunton would be his Cadet and presented her with the Badge of Office.

8 VOTE OF THANKS TO RETIRING MAYOR

It was proposed by Councillor D Robertson, seconded by Councillor R Harvey-Coggins, and

RESOLVED: That the best thanks of the citizens be accorded to Councillor Ann Hughes for her valuable and outstanding services as Mayor during 2023/24.

Councillor Hughes responded in suitable terms, thanking those who had assisted and supported her during her time in office.

9 VOTE OF THANKS TO RETIRING SHERIFF

It was proposed by Councillor D Baker, seconded by Councillor R Yardley, and

RESOLVED: That the best thanks of the citizens be accorded to Adam Burns-Mace for his valuable and outstanding services as Sheriff during 2023/24.

Adam Burns-Mace responded in suitable terms, thanking those who had assisted and supported him during his time in office.

10 PRESENTATION OF BADGES OF OFFICE

The Mayor presented the Chain of Office to the Sheriff's Consort, Nigel Gann.

11 REPLICA BADGES OF OFFICE

The retiring Mayor, and the retiring Sheriff and Sheriff's Consort were presented with replica badges of office.

12 APPOINTMENT OF LEADER OF COUNCIL

It was proposed by Councillor C Ball, seconded by Councillor A Hughes, and

RESOLVED: That Councillor D Robertson be appointed Leader of Council for the ensuing year.

13 APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY LEADER OF COUNCIL

It was proposed by Councillor D Robertson, seconded by Councillor K Farrelly, and

RESOLVED: That Councillor R Harvey-Coggins be appointed Deputy Leader of Council for the ensuing year.

14 APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES, PANELS, AND ADVISORY COMMITTEES

RESOLVED: That membership of Committees, Panels, and Advisory Committees be as detailed at APPENDIX 1 to these minutes.

THERE BEING NO FURTHER BUSINESS
THE MAYOR DECLARED THE MEETING CLOSED AT 7.28 PM

MAYOR

Council Minutes: 15 May 2024 APPENDIX 1

COMMITTEE, PANEL, AND ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP 2024/25

PLANNING COMMITTEE (All members of Council)			
Chair	E Strain	Vice Chair	P Knight
	Boley Park	R Yardley	
	Chadsmead	P Ray	
Ward	Curborough	C Ball	
Representatives	Leomansley	J Christie	
	St Johns	D Baker	
	Stowe	P McDermott	

AUDIT COMMITTEE 7 members			
Conservative	Labour	Liberal Democrat	
A Lax	J Marshall (Chair)	S Hollingsworth	
M Warfield	A Fox (Vice Chair)	P McDermott	
	B Watkins		

JOHNSON BIRTHPLACE ADVISORY COMMITTEE 8 members + 3 non-voting

Johnson Society (non-voting)
P Jones & J Winterton

Honorary Member (non-voting)
A Thompson

Conservative	Labour		Liberal Democrat
J Eagland	A Hughe	s (Chair)	J Christie
R Yardley	J Anketell (Vice Chair)	S Hollingsworth
	D Rob	ertson	
	E St	rain	

GRANTS ADVISORY COMMITTEE

9 members

Conservative	Labour	Liberal Democrat
D Baker	C Ball (Chair)	H Ashton
R Yardley	A Hughes (Vice Chair)	J Christie
	J Blackman	
	K Farrelly	
	J Marshall	

STAFFING COMMITTEE

8 members

Conservative	Labour	Liberal Democrat
J Eagland	D Robertson (Chair)	S Hollingsworth
A Lax	R Harvey-Coggins (Vice-Chair)	P McDermott
	M Field	
	P Knight	

TENDERS COMMITTEE

[Comprising Leader, Deputy Leader, Mayor, Deputy Mayor]

6 members

Conservative	Labour	Liberal Democrat
D Baker	D Robertson (Chair)	P McDermott
	R Harvey-Coggins (Vice Chair)	
	S Schafer	
	C Pinder-Smith	

COMPLAINTS PANEL 4 members			
Conservative	Labour	Liberal Democrat	
D Baker	D Robertson (Chair)	P McDermott	
	P Knight		

MARKETS WORKING GROUP 6 members			
Conservative	Labour	Liberal Democrat	
D Baker	R Bragger (Chair)	P McDermott	
	B Watkins (Vice Chair)	J Smith	
	C Pinder-Smith		

CLIMATE CHANGE AND BIODIVERSITY COMMITTEE 6 members			
Conservative	Conservative Labour L		
A Lax	J Blackman (Chair)	A Rushton	
	R Harvey-Coggins (Vice Chair)		
	K Farrelly		
	E Strain		