Lichfield City Council

Minutes of the Annual Meeting of Lichfield City Council held in the Guildhall, Lichfield, on Monday 15 May 2023 at 6.30 pm

PRESENT: Councillors J Anketell, H Ashton, D Baker, C Ball, R Bragger, J Christie, J Eagland, M Field, A Fox, C Greatorex, R Harvey-Coggins, S Hollingsworth, A Hughes, P Knight, A Lax, J Marshall, P McDermott, C Pinder-Smith, P Ray, D Robertson, A Rushton, S Schafer, J Smith, E Strain, M Warfield, B Watkins and R Yardley.

APOLOGIES: Councillor J Blackman.

1 ELECTION OF MAYOR

It was proposed by Councillor D Robertson, seconded by Councillor R Harvey-Coggins, and

RESOLVED: That Councillor Ann Hughes be elected Mayor of the City to hold office until the election of a successor at the Annual Meeting of Council in May 2024.

The Mayor was invested with the Mayoral Chain, and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office. The Mayor then took the Oath of Allegiance and occupied the Chair.

2 COUNCIL MINUTES

RESOLVED: That the Minutes of the City Council Meeting held on 17 April 2023 (nos. 112 – 121) be confirmed and signed as a correct record.

3 APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY MAYOR

It was proposed by Councillor D Robertson, seconded by Councillor C Pinder-Smith, and RESOLVED: That Councillor Sam Schafer be appointed Deputy Mayor to hold office until the election of Mayor at the Annual Meeting of Council in May 2024.

The Deputy Mayor was invested with the chain of office and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

4 ELECTION OF SHERIFF

It was proposed by Councillor D Baker, seconded by Councillor R Yardley, and RESOLVED: That Adam Burns-Mace be elected Sheriff of the City to hold office until the election of a successor at the Annual Meeting of Council in May 2024.

The Sheriff was invested with the Chain of Office and took the Oath of Fealty to the Crown.

5 EXPRESSION OF THANKS

The Mayor, Deputy Mayor and Sheriff each returned thanks for their election.

6 APPOINTMENT OF MAYOR'S CHAPLAIN

The Mayor announced that Reverend Ian Hayter would be Mayor's Chaplain.

7 APPOINTMENT OF MAYOR'S CADET

The Mayor announced that RAF Cadet Sergeant Ben Carty would be her Cadet and presented him with the Badge of Office.

8 VOTE OF THANKS TO RETIRING MAYOR

It was proposed by Councillor J Eagland, seconded by Councillor C Greatorex, and

RESOLVED: That the best thanks of the citizens be accorded to Councillor Jamie Checkland for his valuable and outstanding services as Mayor during 2022/23.

Councillor Checkland responded in suitable terms, thanking those who had assisted and supported him during his time in office.

9 VOTE OF THANKS TO RETIRING SHERIFF

It was proposed by Councillor A Lax, seconded by Councillor M Warfield, and

RESOLVED: That the best thanks of the citizens be accorded to Janice Greaves for her valuable and outstanding services as Sheriff during 2022/23.

Janice Greaves responded in suitable terms, thanking those who had assisted and supported her during her time in office

10 PRESENTATION OF BADGES OF OFFICE

The Mayor presented the Chain of Office to the Sheriff's Consort, Anthea Maou

11 REPLICA BADGES OF OFFICE

The retiring Mayor and Mayoress, and the retiring Sheriff and Sheriff's Consort were presented with replica badges of office by the Mayor.

12 APPOINTMENT OF LEADER OF COUNCIL

It was proposed by Councillor C Ball, seconded by Councillor R Bragger, and

RESOLVED: That Councillor Dave Robertson be appointed Leader of Council for the ensuing year.

13 APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY LEADER OF COUNCIL

It was proposed by Councillor D Robertson, seconded by Councillor C Pinder-Smith, and

RESOLVED: That Councillor Rosemary Harvey-Coggins be appointed Deputy Leader of Council for the ensuing year.

14 APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES, PANELS, AND ADVISORY COMMITTEES

RESOLVED: That membership of Committees, Panels, and Advisory Committees be as detailed at APPENDIX 1 to these minutes.

15 MEMBERS DECLARATIONS OF ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE

The Town Clerk advised the Mayor that all declarations had been received and there was no requirement for an extension.

16 GENERAL POWER OF COMPETENCE

Members considered the Town Clerk's report and recommendations at Agenda Appendix 2.

RESOLVED: That from 15 May 2023 until the next relevant Annual Meeting of the Council in 2027, the City Council adopts the General Power of Competence having met the conditions of eligibility as defined in the Localism Act 2011 and SI 965 The Parish Councils (General Power of Competence) (Prescribed Conditions) Order 2012.

THERE BEING NO FURTHER BUSINESS
THE MAYOR DECLARED THE MEETING CLOSED AT 7.25 PM

Council Minutes: 15 May 2023 Appendix 1

COMMITTEE, PANEL, AND ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP 2023/24

PLANNING COMMITTEE (All members of Council) Chair B Watkins Vice Chair R Bragger **Boley Park** R Yardley Chadsmead P Ray Curborough C Ball **Ward Representative** Leomansley J Christie St Johns D Baker Stowe P McDermott

AUDIT COMMITTEE 7 members		
Conservative	Labour	Liberal Democrat
A Lax	J Marshall (Chair)	S Hollingsworth
M Warfield	A Fox (Vice Chair)	P McDermott
	K Farrelly	

JOHNSON BIRTHPLACE ADVISORY COMMITTEE 8 members + 4 non-voting

Johnson Society Appointments (non-voting)
P Jones & J Winterton

Honorary Members (non-voting)
R Awty & A Thompson

Conservative	Labour	Liberal Democrat
J Eagland	A Hughes (Chair)	J Christie
R Yardley	J Anketell (Vice Chair)	S Hollingsworth
	P Knight	
	B Watkins	

GRANTS ADVISORY COMMITTEE

[amalgamated with Neighbourhood Plan Implementation Working Party] 9 members

Conservative	Labour	Liberal Democrat
D Baker	C Ball (Chair)	H Ashton
R Yardley	M Field (Vice Chair)	J Christie
	S Schafer	
	K Farrelly	
	E Strain	

STAFFING COMMITTEE

8 members

Conservative	Labour	Liberal Democrat
J Eagland	R Harvey-Coggins (Chair)	S Hollingsworth
A Lax	R Bragger (Vice-Chair)	P McDermott
	D Robertson	
	C Pinder-Smith	

TENDERS COMMITTEE

[Comprising Leader, Deputy Leader, Mayor, Deputy Mayor]

6 members

Conservative	Labour	Liberal Democrat
D Baker	D Robertson (Chair)	P McDermott
	R Harvey-Coggins (Vice Chair)	
	A Hughes	
	S Schafer	

COMPLAINTS PANEL 4 members Conservative Labour Liberal Democrat D Baker D Robertson (Chair) P McDermott

P Knight

MARKETS WORKING GROUP 6 members		
Conservative	Labour	Liberal Democrat
D Baker	J Blackman (Chair)	P McDermott
	C Pinder Smith (Vice Chair)	J Smith
	M Field	

SHERIFF'S RIDE WORKING PARTY 5 members		
Conservative	Labour	Liberal Democrat
J Eagland	B Watkins (Chair)	J Smith
	P Knight (Vice Chair)	
	C Ball	