### **Lichfield City Council**

# Minutes of the Annual Meeting of Lichfield City Council held in the Guildhall, Lichfield, on Wednesday 14 May 2025 at 6.30 pm

**PRESENT:** Councillors H Ashton, C Ball, J Blackman, R Bragger, J Christie, J England, M Field, A Fox, C Greatorex, R Harvey-Coggins, A Hughes, P Knight, J Madden, J Marshall, P McDermott, C Pinder-Smith, D Robertson, A Rushton, S Schafer, J Smith, M Warfield, B Watkins and R Yardley.

APOLOGIES: Councillors D Baker, K Farrelly, A Lax, P Ray and E Strain.

### 1 ELECTION OF MAYOR

It was proposed by Councillor A Fox seconded by Councillor A Huges, and

RESOLVED: That Councillor Claire Pinder-Smith be elected Mayor of the City to hold office until the election of a successor at the Annual Meeting of Council in May 2026.

The Mayor was invested with the Mayoral Chain and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office. The Mayor then took the Oath of Allegiance and occupied the Chair.

### 2 COUNCIL MINUTES

RESOLVED: That the Minutes of the City Council Meeting held on 14 April 2025 (nos. 103 – 115) be confirmed and signed as a correct record.

### 3 APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY MAYOR

It was proposed by Councillor J Marshall, seconded by Councillor B Watkins and

RESOLVED: That Councillor Rosemary Harvey-Coggins be appointed Deputy Mayor to hold office until the election of Mayor at the Annual Meeting of Council in May 2026.

The Deputy Mayor was invested with the chain of office and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

### 4 ELECTION OF SHERIFF

It was proposed by Councillor A Hughes, seconded by Councillor B Watkins, and

RESOLVED: That Revd Ian Hayter be elected Sheriff of the City to hold office until the election of a successor at the Annual Meeting of Council in May 2026.

The Sheriff was invested with the Chain of Office and took the Oath of Fealty to the Crown.

### 5 EXPRESSION OF THANKS

The Mayor, Deputy Mayor and Sheriff each returned thanks for their election.

### 6 APPOINTMENT OF MAYOR'S CHAPLAIN

The Mayor announced that Reverend Ian Hayter would be Mayor's Chaplain.

### 7 APPOINTMENT OF MAYOR'S CADET

The Mayor announced that Police Cadet Ella Hughes would be her Cadet and presented her with the Badge of Office.

### 8 VOTE OF THANKS TO RETIRING MAYOR

It was proposed by Councillor C Ball, seconded by Councillor P Knight, and

RESOLVED: That the best thanks of the citizens be accorded to Councillor Sam Schafer for his valuable and outstanding services as Mayor during 2024/25.

Councillor Schafer responded in suitable terms, thanking those who had assisted and supported him during his time in office.

### 9 VOTE OF THANKS TO RETIRING SHERIFF

It was proposed by Councillor P Knight, seconded by Councillor R Bragger, and

RESOLVED: That the best thanks of the citizens be accorded to Cathy Wood for her valuable and outstanding services as Sheriff during 2024/25.

The Sheriff's Consort, Nigel Gann responded in suitable terms on behalf of the Sheriff, thanking those who had assisted and supported her during her time in office.

### 10 PRESENTATION OF BADGES OF OFFICE

The Mayor presented the Chain of Office to the Deputy Mayor's Consort and Sheriff's Consort.

### 11 REPLICA BADGES OF OFFICE

The retiring Mayor was presented with a replica badge of office. In the absence of the retiring Sheriff, the Sheriff's consort Nigel Gann accepted the replica badge of office on her behalf.

### 12 APPOINTMENT OF LEADER OF COUNCIL

It was proposed by Councillor S Schafer, seconded by Councillor J Blackman, and

RESOLVED: That Councillor J Marshall be appointed Leader of Council for the ensuing year.

### 13 APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY LEADER OF COUNCIL

It was proposed by Councillor R Bragger, seconded by Councillor S Schafer, and

RESOLVED: That Councillor A Hughes be appointed Deputy Leader of Council for the ensuing year.

### 14 APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES, PANELS, AND ADVISORY COMMITTEES

RESOLVED: That membership of Committees, Panels, and Advisory Committees be as detailed at APPENDIX 1 to these minutes.

THERE BEING NO FURTHER BUSINESS
THE MAYOR DECLARED THE MEETING CLOSED AT 7.20 PM

**MAYOR** 

# Council Minutes: 14 May 2025 APPENDIX 1

## COMMITTEE, PANEL, AND ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP 2025/26

PLANNING COMMITTEE  (All members of Council)			
Chair	E Strain	Vice Chair	P Knight
Ward Representative	Boley Park	R Yardley	
	Chadsmead	P Ray	
	Curborough	C Ball	
	Leomansley	J Christie	
	St Johns	D Baker	
	Stowe	P McDermott	

AUDIT COMMITTEE  8 members			
Conservative	Labour	Liberal Democrat	Reform UK
A Lax	A Fox (Chair)	P McDermott	D Robertson
M Warfield	B Watkins (Vice Chair)	J Smith	
	E Strain		

# JOHNSON BIRTHPLACE ADVISORY COMMITTEE 9 members + 3 non-voting

Johnson Society Appointments (non-voting) P Jones & J Winterton		Honorary Member (non-voting) A Thompson	
Conservative	Labour	Liberal Democrat	Reform UK
J Eagland	A Hughes (Chair)	J Christie	J Madden
R Yardley	J Anketell (Vice Chair)	P McDermott	
	M Field		
	E Strain		

# GRANTS ADVISORY COMMITTEE 9 members Conservative Labour Liberal Democrat D Baker C Ball (Chair) H Ashton R Yardley A Hughes (Vice Chair) J Christie K Farrelly P Knight J Marshall

### **STAFFING COMMITTEE**

### 8 members

Conservative	Labour	Liberal Democrat
J Eagland	M Field (Vice Chair)	P McDermott (Chair)
A Lax	R Bragger	J Christie
	P Knight	
	S Schafer	

### **TENDERS COMMITTEE**

[Comprising Leader, Deputy Leader, Mayor, Deputy Mayor]

### 6 members

Conservative	Labour	Liberal Democrat
D Baker	J Marshall (Chair)	P McDermott
	A Hughes (Vice Chair)	
	C Pinder-Smith	
	R Harvey-Coggins	

### **COMPLAINTS PANEL**

### 4 members

Conservative	Labour	Liberal Democrat
A Lax	A Fox (Chair)	P McDermott
	E Strain	

MARKETS WORKING GROUP 6 members			
Conservative	Labour	Liberal Democrat	
D Baker	J Blackman (Chair)	P McDermott	
	R Bragger	J Smith	
	S Schafer		

CLIMATE CHANGE AND BIODIVERSITY COMMITTEE 6 members		
Conservative	Labour	Liberal Democrat
A Lax	J Blackman (Chair)	A Rushton (Vice Chair)
	R Harvey-Coggins	
	A Hughes	
	E Strain	