New Civic Team - 2021/22

Published: 18 May 2021

The investiture of the new Mayor, Deputy Mayor and Sheriff took place at the Guildhall on Monday 17 May 2021.Mayor of Lichfield, Cllr Robert Yardley

The new Mayor of the City is Councillor Robert Yardley (pictured), proposed by Councillor Mark Warfield and seconded by Councillor Mrs Janet Eagland. Councillor Miss Jayne Marks is Mayoress.

In accepting the office of Mayor for the forthcoming year, Councillor Yardley thanked his fellow councillors for their support and stated that it was a great honour and privilege to be elected. He also paid tribute to the work of the outgoing Mayor, Councillor Mrs Deborah Baker, and Sheriff, Dr Daryl Brown, who had together raised just under £10,000 for their chosen charities; Lichfield and Hatherton Canal Restoration Trust, St. Giles Hospice and Lichfield Voluntary Transport for the Disabled during their year in office.

The new Deputy Mayor is Councillor Jamie Checkland, Councillor Checkland’s appointment was proposed by Councillor Mrs Janet Eagland and seconded by Councillor Christopher Spruce. Mrs Stephanie Checkland is the Deputy Mayoress.

Completing the new Civic Team is Mr Peter Hitchman who has now become Sheriff of the City, following a proposal from Councillor Colin Greatorex that was seconded by Councillor Angela Lax. Mr Peter Hitchman is a well-known Lichfeldian, a former City Councillor and current member of many city charities and committees.

The Mayor proudly announced his appointment of Army Cadet LCPL James Carter and Mayor’s Chaplain, Revd Ian Hayter for his forthcoming year in office.

Following the investiture of the new Civic Team, the retiring Mayor, Mayor’s Consort and Sheriff were presented with replica badges of office.

During their year in office the Mayor and Sheriff will jointly host five events to raise money for their nominated charities; We Love Lichfield and Friends to Friends. Further information of these events will be published over the course of the year on our website