New Civic Team 2023/24

Published: 18 May 2023

The investiture of the new Mayor, Deputy Mayor and Sheriff for Lichfield City Council took place in the Guildhall at the Annual Council meeting on Monday 15 May 2023.
The new Mayor of the City is Councillor Ann Hughes, proposed by Councillor D Robertson and seconded by Councillor R Harvey-Coggins. 
In accepting the office of Mayor for the forthcoming year, Councillor Hughes thanked her fellow councillors for their support and stated that it was a great honour and privilege to be elected. She also paid tribute to the work of the outgoing Mayor, Jamie Checkland and Sheriff, Janice Greaves, who had together raised just over £9,000 for their chosen charities; Sebbie Hall Kindness Foundation & the Pathway Project by holding several events during their year in office.
The new Deputy Mayor is Councillor Samuel Schafer whose appointment was proposed by Councillor D Robertson and seconded by Councillor C Pinder-Smith.
Completing the new Civic Team is Adam Burns-Mace who was elected Sheriff of the City, following a proposal from Councillor D Baker that was seconded by Councillor R Yardley. The Sheriff’s consort for the ensuing year is Anthea Maou.
The Mayor proudly announced her appointment of RAF Cadet Sergeant Ben Carty and Mayor’s Chaplain, Revd Ian Hayter for her forthcoming year in office.
Following the investiture of the new Civic Team, the retiring Mayor, Mayoress, Sheriff & Sheriff’s Consort were presented with replica badges of office.
During their year in office, the Mayor and Sheriff will jointly host three events to raise money for their nominated charities: Lichfield District City of Sanctuary & St Giles Hospice.
Further information regarding these events will be published over the course of the year on the City Council website