New Civic Team 2019/20

Published: 15 May 2019

New ciic team 2019/20The investiture of the new Mayor, Deputy Mayor and Sheriff took place at the Guildhall on 13 May in the presence of more than 100 guests.

The new Mayor of the City is Councillor Mrs Deborah Baker proposed by Councillor Mrs Gwyneth Boyle and seconded by Councillor Tim Matthews. Councillor Mrs Baker’s husband, Dr Steve Baker is the Mayor’s Consort.

In accepting the office of Mayor for the forthcoming year Councillor Mrs Deborah Baker thanked her fellow councillors for their support and stated that it was a great honour and privilege to be elected.   She also paid tribute to the work of the outgoing Mayor, Councillor David Leytham, and Sheriff, Mr Michael Mullarkey, who had together raised just over £10,000 for their chosen charities, St. Mary’s on the Market Square and Lichfield Greenhill Bower Charitable Trust during their year in office.

The new Deputy Mayor is Councillor Robert Yardley, Councillor Robert Yardley’s appointment was proposed by Councillor Mrs Janet Eagland and seconded by Councillor Mark Warfield. Councillor Miss Jayne Marks is the Deputy Mayoress.

Completing the new Civic Team is Dr Daryl Brown who has now become Sheriff of the City, following a proposal from Councillor Christopher Spruce that was seconded by Councillor Mark Warfield. Dr Daryl Brown is the son of Dr Neville Brown a former Sheriff of Lichfield. Dr Daryl Brown is a well-known Lichfeldian and current Headteacher of Maple Hayes Hall School. 

The Mayor, Councillor Mrs Deborah Baker proudly announced her appointment of her Police Cadet   Benjamin Dodds for her forthcoming year in office. 

Following the investiture of the new Civic Team, the retiring Mayor, Mayoress, Sheriff and Sheriff’s Lady were presented with replica badges of office.

During their year in office the Mayor and Sheriff will jointly host five events to raise money for their nominated charities, Lichfield & Hatherton Canal Restoration Trust, Lichfield Voluntary Transport and St. Giles Hospice. Further information of these events will be published over the course of the year on our website