New Civic Team 2017/18

Published: 16 May 2017

new Mayor, Deputy Mayor and SheriffThe investiture of the new Mayor, Deputy Mayor and Sheriff took place at the Guildhall on 15 May in the presence of more than 130 guests. 

The new Mayor of the City is Councillor Mrs Janice Greaves.  Councillor Mrs Greaves' appointment was proposed by Councillor Mrs Gwyneth Boyle and seconded by Councillor Mrs Jeanette Allsopp. Mrs Greaves husband, Keith is the Mayor’s Consort.

The new Deputy Mayor is Councillor David Leytham.  Councillor Leytham’s appointment was proposed by Councillor Mrs Janet Eagland and seconded by Councillor Mark Warfield. Cllr Leytham’s Wife, Jan Leytham-Gain is the Deputy Mayor’s consort.

Completing the new Civic Team is Councillor Andrew Smith who has now become Sheriff of the City, following a proposal from Councillor Robert Awty that was seconded by Councillor Christopher Spruce. Councillor Smith was Mayor of Lichfield in 2015/16. The Sheriff’s Lady is Mrs Sallyanne Smith.

Following the investiture of the new Civic Team, the retiring Mayor, Mayoress, Sheriff and Sheriff's Lady were presented with replica badges of office. 

During their year in office the Mayor and Sheriff will jointly host five events to raise money for their nominated charities. More information on these events will be published over the course of the year on our website.